When you sign up on Tinder, your Tinder profile is straight away added to the card stack, which means your profile will appear in the Discovery section of other users and you can see the profiles of nearby users to match with.
Tinder might limit the visibility of your profile by keeping it hidden from others. There are several reasons why Tinder does this and I will explain all of these later in this article.
As soon as a user installs the Tinder app, enters their information, and creates their profile, their Tinder profile is added to the Tinder algorithm and the card stack of others. Sometimes there might be a delay in the process due to high server load but it will be done ultimately.
How Do I Hide My Tinder Account?
Tinder provides you an option to hide your profile from other users and remove your profile from Tinder’s card stack. To hide your Tinder account follow the steps below:
- Tap the Profile icon in the upper left corner from the main screen.
- Tap the Settings button (gear icon).
- Scroll down till you find the “Show me on Tinder” option below the Age Range and Maximum Distance options.
- Turn off the “Show me on Tinder” option.
Below the “Show me on Tinder” option, you’ll find the details about this option which is stated as “While turned off, you will not be shown in the card stack. People you have already liked may still see your profile and match with you. You can still see and chat with your matches.”
If you turn off this option it means the following things:
(1) Your profile will be removed from the Tinder card stack which means that other users won’t see your profile while swiping. If you want to hide your profile without deleting the app or your Tinder account, this is your best choice.
If you’ve recently met someone on Tinder or in real life and think that he or she is the right one for you then choosing this option allows you to take a break from Tinder and focus on that person by giving them more of your time and attention.
(2) If you swiped right on someone’s profile and turned off the “Show me on Tinder” option, the liked users can still see your profile in their card stack and can match with you by swiping right on your profile.
This is a good option for those who want to stay anonymous for the time being but still want to get matched by someone they liked earlier. This is another good option for users who recently met someone and want to chat with them without getting distracted by other profiles.
(3) If you turn off this option, you’ll still be able to view all your matches and chat with your matches. This is an excellent feature for users who found their dream boy/girl and can spend their time chatting with them without getting distracted by viewing other profiles.
Dating app users always get a feeling that there’s someone better waiting for them and they are just a swipe away which could make them unhappy and wanting for more. You should turn off this option to escape from this feeling and stay faithful to your match.
Why Do People Hide Tinder Accounts?
There are various reasons why users prefer to turn off the “Show me on Tinder” option instead of uninstalling the app or deleting their Tinder profile.
- Take breaks from online dating. The online dating game can eat up your valuable time and energy making you feel tired and exhausted. This is a good option to take a break from online dating without removing your profile.
- Hide from others. If you don’t want your friends or family to know you’re on Tinder then this is a great option to hide your profile from them.
- You found someone you like but aren’t sure. If you recently matched with someone that you think could be “the one” for you but you aren’t sure how it will go then using this option is good because you can stay faithful to your match and come back to the dating game when things don’t go right for you.
How Long Can I Stay Hidden On Tinder?
Your Tinder account will stay hidden as long as you keep the “Show me on Tinder” option turned off. This hides your profile from others and removes your profile from other users’ card stacks. It feels as if you didn’t have a Tinder profile in the first place.
If you end up uninstalling the Tinder app from your phone and keep the “Show me on Tinder” option turned off then your profile will stay hidden so there’s no chance that a new user could find your profile while swiping.
This is the ideal option if you don’t want to use the Tinder app and don’t feel like going through all the inconvenience of deleting a Tinder account. This is also great if you don’t want your profile to show up as a new profile on others’ card stacks.
Difference Between Hiding Profile and Deleting Profile on Tinder?
Turning off the “Show me on Tinder” option hides your profile from others. Deleting the Tinder app from your phone doesn’t delete your Tinder profile.
To delete your Tinder profile, tap the Profile icon, tap on Settings, scroll down below till you see the Tinder logo with version number, and below that you’ll find the “Delete Account” option.
This option is all the way at the end of the Settings options. Tinder does make it hard to find it because they don’t want you to delete your profile. This option is below the “Log out” option after the Tinder logo with the version number.
Once you tap “Delete Account” you’ll be asked the reason why you want to delete your account and after selecting the reason and confirming that you’re sure about this decision, your Tinder account will be deleted.
Deleting your Tinder account is recommended if you found someone in your life and want to spend your maximum time with them or if you’re disappointed with the Tinder app because it didn’t work out for you and you want to completely remove the app as well as your personal information.
If you are just taking a break from the app then turning off the “Show me on Tinder” option is the best choice because you can start using Tinder whenever you feel the time is right by simply turning on that option. You won’t have to go through the inconvenience of creating another account.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can You Hide Your Profile on Tinder?
Yes, you can hide your profile on Tinder by turning off the “Show me on Tinder” option inside the Settings area in your Account section.
Does Tinder Hide Your Profile If You’re Inactive?
No, Tinder doesn’t hide your profile if you’re inactive. Your profile will show up on other users’ card stacks but inactive profiles may be less visible than active profiles.
If You Hide Your Profile on Tinder Can Your Matches Still See You?
If you hide your Tinder profile, your matches can still see you and you can see your matches. Your matches can also chat with you and you won’t find any problems while messaging them.
If you hide your profile, the users that you haven’t liked or matched with can’t see you. The profiles that you’ve liked or matched can see your profile unless you delete it.
How Long Until Tinder Hides Your Profile?
When you turn off the “Show me on Tinder” option, your profile will be hidden within a few hours. Tinder might take around 24 hours to completely remove your profile from the card stack of others but the process starts immediately.
You can know if your Tinder profile is visible to others when the “Show me on Tinder” option is turned on. If your pictures and bio are updated then Tinder will include the updated photos and bio in their algorithm and other users can see your updated information.
If the “Show me on Tinder” option is turned off, your profile won’t be visible to the people who you didn’t like or aren’t matched with. You can still see and chat with your matches without any issues.